Rooftop's own documents

Tariff of charges

Rooftop publishes a list of the fees it says it may apply during the life of a mortgage. If a charge has appeared on your statement, this is the document it is most likely to have come from.

The table below reproduces the published tariff effective 3 February 2025. Amounts and descriptions are taken from the document itself. The "when it applies" and "third-party costs" columns summarise the tariff's own wording and add nothing to it. View the original tariff.

Swipe the table sideways to see every column.

ChargeAmountWhen Rooftop says it appliesThird-party costs on top?
Copy of deeds or documents fee£25.00The tariff does not state further conditions.Not stated
Copy of mortgage statement fee£12.50The tariff does not state further conditions.Not stated
Field agent property check fee£150.00 maximumWhere a field agent is instructed to check the property.Stated as a maximum; the actual agent cost may be lower
Questionnaire request fee£25.00The tariff does not state further conditions.Not stated
Subsequent charge consent fee£55.00The tariff does not state further conditions.Not stated
Lease variation fee£100.00The tariff does not state further conditions.Not stated
Valuation feeVariableThe tariff does not state further conditions.Not stated
Arrears management fee£45.00Charged monthly while the account is in arrears.No
Unpaid direct debit fee£25.00Where a direct debit payment is returned unpaid.No
Field agent visit fee£150.00 maximumWhere a field agent is instructed to visit the borrower.Stated as a maximum; the actual agent cost may be lower
Solicitors instruction fee£65.00An administration fee applied when solicitors are instructed.Yes – the solicitors' own costs may be debited in addition
Repossession fee£360.00Where the property is taken into possession.Yes – related third-party costs may be debited in addition
Unpaid ground rent and service charges fee£95.00The tariff does not state further conditions.Not stated
Receivers instruction fee (buy-to-let customers only)£80.00An administration fee applied when receivers are instructed. The tariff states this applies to buy-to-let accounts.Yes – the receiver's own costs may be debited in addition
Redemption fee£90.00On repayment of the mortgage in full.No

What the tariff says about variable costs

The tariff states that additional solicitor and agent costs may be debited to the account, that customers will be advised of them, and that those variable charges represent the actual cost incurred rather than a mark-up. That means a £65 solicitor instruction fee is an administration fee, not the whole of what may be added.

Which tariff applies to a charge on your account

A fee is normally applied under the tariff in force on the date it was charged, not the tariff published today.

Both published versions the archive has obtained are compared below. If a charge on your statement does not match the version in force on the date it was applied, that is worth asking about. The itemised fee breakdown letter asks for the tariff version relied on for each individual charge.

Swipe the table sideways to see every column.

ChargeFrom 1 May 2019From 3 February 2025
Copy of deeds or documents fee£25.00£25.00
Copy of mortgage statement fee£10.00£12.50
Field agent property check fee£120.00 maximum£150.00 maximum
Reference or questionnaire request fee£20.00Not in this version
Subsequent charge consent fee£60.00£55.00
Consent to letting fee£60.00Not in this version
Change to mortgage term fee£90.00Not in this version
Lease variation fee£50.00£100.00
Valuation feeVariableVariable
Arrears management fee£50.00£45.00
Unpaid cheque fee£20.00Not in this version
Unpaid direct debit fee£20.00£25.00
Field agent visit fee£120.00 maximum£150.00 maximum
Field agent visit cancellation fee£54.00Not in this version
Solicitors instruction fee£80.00£65.00
Repossession fee£300.00£360.00
Unpaid ground rent and service charges fee£65.00£95.00
Redemption fee£100.00£90.00
Deeds dispatch fee£25.00Not in this version
Questionnaire request feeNot in this version£25.00
Receivers instruction fee (buy-to-let customers only)Not in this version£80.00

Versions between May 2019 and February 2025 have not been located. Web archive copies of Rooftop's fee tariff page and of PDFs on its website were searched for the years 2020 to 2024 and no captured version was found. If you hold one, please send it in.

What published decisions say about these charges

A charge appearing in the tariff does not settle whether applying it in a particular case was fair. The fees and interest hub collects the published decisions where charges were examined, and the interest on fees page deals with interest applied to them.

Full archive record for this tariff

If this is your situation

The practical steps for this topic, taken from the "Auditing your account: what is principal, what is interest, what is a fee" playbook.

What to collect

  • Annual statements and arrears statements. MCOB 13.5 requires regular arrears statements showing payments due, the shortfall, charges and the total debt, and identifies legal fees and interest as arrears-related charges.
  • The transaction history in full, not a summary.
  • The tariff of charges in force at each relevant date.
  • Invoices or fee notes behind third-party costs, which are usually the last thing to be provided.
  • A one-page spreadsheet of your own: date, description, amount, category, tariff provision, queried yes/no.

What to ask for

  • An itemised breakdown of every fee, charge and cost, with date, amount, description and the tariff provision or contractual clause relied on.
  • The version of the tariff in force on the date each fee was applied.
  • Copies of invoices or fee notes for every third-party cost passed to the account.
  • Confirmation of whether interest has been charged on fees, the rate and the basis.
  • The transaction history covering the whole period in dispute.

Read the full playbook: Auditing your account: what is principal, what is interest, what is a fee